DIY Flower Wall Art

22 Mar

Happy Tuesday!

So today I wanted to show you my most recent Pinterest “knock-off”.

I borrowed the idea from the blog, It’s Doable: Crafts, Food and Life (http://itsdoable.squarespace.com/blog/2012/1/23/its-doablethe-flower-wall-art.html#comments)

This blogger did things a bit differently but here are the supplies I needed:

  • 1-12×12 Blank Canvas
  • 1-4 oz bottle of acrylic gray paint
  • ~45 wooden biscuits (I got a container of the 5/8” size from Home Depot for $6)
  • Scrapbook Paper

(The total was only about $12!)

Here are the supplies I had:

  • Foam brush
  • Hot Glue Gun
  • Mod Podge

Step 1: Paint your canvas with the gray (or whatever color you choose) paint, let it dry and repeat. If you don’t do 2 coats, you’ll be able to see the white through the canvas. (In this picture, I was playing around with the layout of the biscuits on a blank canvas I had)

Step 2: Paint the outside edges of the biscuits with the gray (I chose to use biscuits to give it a 3D effect, but you can cut out just plain scrapbook paper like the above mentioned blog did. Andrew told me about the biscuits, and they were the perfect shape. Plus I can save them in my stash for future projects!) At first I painted the whole thing, but you later cover the surface, so this was a waste of paint on my end! 🙂

Step 3: While the biscuits and canvas are drying, take an un-painted biscuit and trace it out 45 times on different colors of scrapbook paper.

Step 4: Once the biscuits are dry, take mod podge to adhere the scrapbook pieces to the biscuits. This won’t take much mod podge, just a thin layer should work.

Step 5: I had Andrew do this part for me. To make the center, you can take a biscuit and cut out (with a sharp Swiss army knife, or something similar) a circle. Cover this with scrapbook paper, paint the sides, etc.

Step 6: Once everything is dry, hot glue the pieces in order!

You’re done!

You can choose to add more/less biscuits. All up to you!

Happy Crafting 🙂

Leave a comment